how to design your own website

What is a Fire Safety Adviser?

A FSA is a person who holds a building fire safety
qualification for an approved building fire safety course,
issued within the last 3 years.
The approved building fire safety course comprises 8 units
of competency in
Workplace Emergency Response within the Australian
Quality Training Framework. They are:
• PUAWER001B - Identify, prevent and report potential
workplace emergency situations
• PUAWER002B - Ensure workplace emergency prevention
procedures, systems and processes are implemented
• PUAWER003B - Manage and monitor workplace
emergency, procedures, equipment and other resources
• PUAWER004B - Respond to workplace emergencies
• PUAWER005B - Operate as part of an emergency control
• PUAWER006B - Lead an emergency control organisation
• PUAWER007B - Manage an emergency control
• PUAWER008B - Confine small workplace emergencies

What Duties can an FSA undertake?

A FSA is required to:
• Provide or arrange - First response evacuation instruction
• Provide or arrange - Evacuation coordination instructions
In addition the FSA may provide assistance to the occupier
• Liaising with occupiers to ensure the development of
the Fire & Evacuation Plan
• Liaising with occupiers to ensure the development of
the Evacuation Sign & Diagram
• Review the Fire & Evacuation Plan and Evacuation Sign
& Diagram annually.
• Monitor the building’s prescribed fire safety installation
maintenance schedule and maintenance records and
advise the occupier of discrepancies.
• Liaise with the QFES during building inspections. If
possible be available at the time of inspection and
have all relevant maintenance records and documents
available at the time of inspection.
• Coordinate the establishment and manage the
Emergency Control Organisation (ECO) where required.
• Arrange or provide general evacuation instruction
as well as first response evacuation instruction and
evacuation coordination instruction.
• Provide advice to the occupier of any possible breeches
of the regulations.
• Coordinate evacuation practice.
• Perform the role of the Evacuation Coordinator if
normally onsite during business hours.
• The FSA if a member of staff could provide invaluable
assistance to the QFES attending an incident in the
building due to their comprehensive knowledge of the

when do you require an FSA?

The Building Fire Safety Regulation 2008 states that you are
required to appoint a FSA if the building is:
• A class 2, 3, 5, 6, 7b, 8, 9a or 9b building that is a
workplace where 30 or more workers are normally

Building Classifications:-
• A class 2 building is a residential building containing 2
or more apartments or units.
• A class 3 building is a residential building such as a
residential part of a motel, hotel or resort.
• A class 5 building is an office building.
• A class 6 building is a shop or other part of a hotel.
• A class 7b building is a storage facility or display area.
• A class 8 building is a laboratory or a factory.
• A class 9a building is a health care building.
• A class 9b building is an assembly building such as a
night club.